Rollercoaster

I feel like this rollercoaster I’ve been on has derailed and crashed.

What a crazy life we live. So on Sunday my husband and I had a real conversation about the potential promotion and how I felt, and I was honest and told him I didn’t really want to leave Mexico. That I am really happy here and I’m excited about work and the experience I’m gaining.

Yesterday, Monday, the day after we talked, he tells me he had decided he will withdraw his application and he wants to support my career growth and is content with seeing me happy.

Today, Tuesday, he texts me at work to see if I can take a 15 minute break. I step out and meet with him and he says he changed his mind! He feels like this opportunity is too good to pass up and he wants to know if I’ll support him. Mind you, if I say “no” he’d be okay… But who the hell am I to crush his dream??

I know how capable he is. I am aware of his talent and want nothing but the best for him. His ambition is one of the first things that attracted me to him, almost 22 years ago! He never stops improving himself. He’s a true professional with insane skills and incredible work ethic. I can’t stand in his way!!

I told him I would support him. I cried. I feel like someone died. I will grieve. I’ll be okay…

By Pedro Velasco on Unsplash

Leave a comment